Samoa Territorial Sea Zone (12 Nautical Miles)

Date created: 25 July 2021
This date indicates the date the dataset metadata was created on Pacific Data Hub.

Based on the Samoa Maritime Zones Order 2017 which repealed the Maritime Zones Order 2014, the points to be used for determining the outer limits of the territorial sea are 12 nautical miles from the baseline. The list of the coordinates are stated under the Samoa Maritime Zones Order 2017.

In accordance to Maritime Zones, 1999, No. 18 25 August 1999(1) which repealed the The Territorial Sea Act, 1971, and the Exclusive Economic Zone Act, 1977, it states that the baseline of the territorial sea - Except as otherwise provided in section 7, the baseline from which the breadth of the territorial sea of Samoa is measured shall be the seaward side of – (a) The low-water mark of any reef fringing the coast of any part of Samoa; (b) The low-water line of any low tide elevation which is situated wholly or partly at a distance not exceeding the breadth of the territorial sea from the mainland or an island; (c) The low-water line along the coast of Samoa, in the case where a fringing reef is not present.

Data and Resources

Request Access

Additional Info

Access Restricted
Issued 2021-07-25
Modified 2021-11-12
Version 2
Version Notes November 2021
  • English
Conforms To
  • UN DOALOS Submission Standard
DCAT Type dataset
Spatial Coverage
Publisher Geoscience and Energy and Maritime Division
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Publisher Email [email protected]
Publisher Homepage
Publisher Type Intergovernmental Organisation
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected]
  • Climate Change
  • Economic Development
  • Environment
  • Fisheries
  • Fisheries
  • Geoscience
Member countries Samoa