Papua New Guinea Territorial Sea Zone (12 Nautical Miles)

Date created: 24 May 2019 Version 2

The National Seas Act 1977 states that the territorial sea of PNG comprises all the waters, being waters forming part of the offshore seas, contained between the baselines and the outer-limit lines except for any such waters proclaimed under this section by the Head of State, acting on advice, not to form part of the territorial sea.

The location of a baseline or a part of a baseline may be determined by the Head of State, acting on advice, by notice published in the National Gazette; and an outer-limit line is the line every point of which is a limit point. "Limit point" means a point which is 12 miles seaward from the nearest point on a baseline.

Data and Resources

Request Access
Access Restricted
Modified 2022-05-18
Version 2
Language English
DCAT Type Dataset
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected]