New Caledonia Territorial Sea (12 Nautical Mile)

Date created: 13 November 2021

New Caledonia was on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories from 1946 to 1947, following the transmission of information on New Caledonia and Dependencies by France under Article 73 e of the Charter of the United Nations. In 1986, the General Assembly re-inscribed New Caledonia, by considering that “New Caledonia is a Non-Self-Governing Territory within the meaning of the Charter”. The Administering Power belongs to France.

The Maritime Zone Notification released on 3rd of May 2011, includes deposit of charts, pursuant to article 16, paragraph 2, and article 75, paragraph 2, of the Convention the outer limits of the territorial sea of New Caledonian and referenced to the World Geodetic System 1984 (WGS84).

Data and Resources

Request Access
Access Restricted
Issued 2021-11-14
Modified 2021-11-29
Language English
DCAT Type Dataset
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected]