New Caledonia Contiguous Zone (24 Nautical Mile)

Date created: 13 November 2021 Version 2

New Caledonia was on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories from 1946 to 1947, following the transmission of information on New Caledonia and Dependencies by France under Article 73 e of the Charter of the United Nations. In 1986, the General Assembly re-inscribed New Caledonia, by considering that “New Caledonia is a Non-Self-Governing Territory within the meaning of the Charter”. The Administering Power belongs to France.

The Maritime Zone Notification released on 3rd of May 2011, includes deposit of charts, pursuant to article 16, paragraph 2, and article 75, paragraph 2, of the Convention concerning the baselines, the outer limits of the territorial sea and the outer limits of the exclusive economic zone of New Caledonia and referenced to the World Geodetic System 1984 (WGS84).

Data and Resources

Issued 2021-11-14
Modified 2022-05-11
Version 2
Language English
DCAT Type Dataset
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected]