Kiribati Contiguous Sea Zone - 24 Nautical Miles (Phoenix Islands)

Date created: 01 May 2019 Version 3

The Marine Zones (Declaration) Act 2011 repeals the Marine Zones (Declaration) Act 1983. It states that the "Contiguous Zone" means waters beyond the territorial sea within a distance of twenty-four (24) nautical miles from the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial sea is measured.

The Contiguous Sea Zone Outer Limits Regulations 2014 in accordance with the MZA 2011 specifies the geographical coordinates that defines the boundaries of Cook Islands contiguous sea and are referenced to the World Geodetic System 1984 (WGS 84). The Regulations also contains charts for general illustrations of the contiguous zone lines.

Within the contiguous zone and the airspace above it, Kiribati shall have the right to exercise all the powers which may be considered necessary to prevent contraventions of any fiscal law or any customs, sanitary, immigration laws.

View source

Data and Resources

Issued 2014-11-04
Modified 2022-05-20
Version 3
Language English
DCAT Type Dataset
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected] or [email protected]