French Polynesia Territorial Sea (12 Nautical Mile)

Date created: 13 November 2021

French Polynesia was on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories from 1946 to 1947, following the transmission of information on French Establishments in Oceania by France under Article 73 e of the Charter of the United Nations. In 2013, the General Assembly re-inscribed French Polynesia, by recognizing that “French Polynesia remains a Non-Self-Governing Territory within the meaning of the Charter”.

• See General Assembly resolution 66 (I) of 14 December 1946 and 67/265 of 17 May 2013

Administering Power France

Decree No. 2019-319 of 12 April 2019 defines the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial sea adjacent to French Polynesia is measured. It supersedes Decree No, 2012-1068 of18 September 2012

The geographical coordinates are also described in this Decree and are referenced to the World Geodetic System (WGS84).

Data and Resources

Request Access
Access Restricted
Issued 2021-11-14
Modified 2021-11-29
Language English
DCAT Type Dataset
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected]