Federated States of Micronesia Territorial Sea (12 Nautical Miles)

Date created: 23 September 2021

Chapter 1 of Title 18 of the Code of the Federated States of Micronesia, as amended by Public Law No. 19-172 on April 28, 2017, states that the Territorial Sea is a line, every point of which is 12 M seaward of the nearest point of the baseline. Waters landward of the baseline, including the lagoons of atolls or islands, are internal waters.

Annex I to the Permanent Regulation on the Maritime Boundaries and Maritime Zones of the Federated States of Micronesia proclaims the geographical coordinates of the territorial sea baselines of the separate islands of the Federated States of Micronesia.

The sovereignty of the Federated States of Micronesia extends to its internal waters, archipelagic waters, and Territorial Sea, including sovereign rights over the living and nonliving resources in the Territorial Sea and internal waters and in the airspace above the Territorial Sea, archipelagic waters, and internal waters as well as the seabed and subsoil.


View source

Data and Resources

Issued 2021-10-26
Language English
DCAT Type Dataset
Source https://www.un.org/Depts/los/LEGISLATIONANDTREATIES/STATEFILES/FSM.htm
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected]