Tonga Maritime Boundary Treaties

Date modified: 23 February 2023

Tonga shares five Maritime Boundaries with its neighboring States. The following describes each boundary and progress towards agreement.

                        Gazetted and Entered into Force
         Treaty between Tonga and France (Wallis and Futuna)

Convention between the Government of the French Republic (Wallis and Futuna) and the Government of the Kingdom of Tonga on the delimitation of economic zones, 11 January 1980 (entry into force: 11 January 1980; registration #: 18960; registration date: 27 June 1980

         Boundary between Tonga and Fiji

         Boundary between Tonga and Niue

          Boundary between Tonga and Samoa

          Boundary between Tonga and United States of America

Data and Resources

Request Access
Access Full request, approval required
Issued 2021-12-02
Modified 2023-02-23
Language English
DCAT Type Dataset
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Contact Point