Republic of Marshall Islands Contiguous Zone (24 Nautical Miles)

Date created: 19 July 2021 Version 2

The Republic of the Marshall Islands Maritime Zones Declaration Act 2016 (Nitijela Bill No. 13) repeals the Marine Zones (Declaration) Act 1984 and underlines the delineation and demarcation of the Republic of Marshall Islands contiguous zone. It further states that the contiguous zone of RMI comprises of those areas of the sea that are beyond and adjacent to the territorial sea, having as their outer limits a line measured seaward from the baseline every point of which is distant 24 nautical miles from the nearest point of that baseline.

In addition, the Declaration of Baselines and Maritime Zones Outer Limits under the Act contains the geographical coordinate with reference to the World Geodetic System 1984 (WGS 84). Points are connected by geodesic lines realized in the WGS 84.

Data and Resources

Issued 2021-07-18T14:07:48.994180
Modified 2022-05-12
Version 2
Language English
DCAT Type Dataset
Publisher Name
  • The Pacific Community (SPC)
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name
  • Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected]