Nauru Territorial Sea - (12 Nautical Miles)_edit_October

Date created: 19 July 2021
This date indicates the date the dataset metadata was created on Pacific Data Hub.

The Provision of the Interpretation Act 1971 defines the “Nauruan territorial waters" as:

That area of water, and the waters and subsoil beneath it, enclosed by a line every part of which is at a distance of twelve miles from the nearest point of the outer edge of the reef surrounding the Island of Nauru which is exposed at low tide and, where there is an opening in the reef, from a straight line across the outer edge of that opening.

The Proclamation of 12 August 1997 provides the geographical coordinates for Nauru’s territorial seas as declared under Sea Boundaries Act 1997. The geographical coordinates are expressed in terms of the World Geodetic System 1984 (WGS84), which is a geocentric reference ellipsoid having a major (equatorial) radius of 6,378.137 metres and a flattening of 1/298.257 223 563.

Data and Resources

Request Access

Additional Info

Access Restricted
Issued 2021-10-29
Modified 2021-11-11
Version 2
Version Notes October 2021
  • English
Conforms To
DCAT Type dataset
Spatial Coverage
Publisher Geoscience and Energy and Maritime Division
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Publisher Email [email protected]
Publisher Homepage
Publisher Type Intergovernmental Organisation
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected]
  • Climate Change
  • Economic Development
  • Fisheries
  • Fisheries
  • Geoscience
Member countries Nauru