Kiribati Contiguous Zone (Gilbert Islands)

Date created: 30 April 2019
This date indicates the date the dataset metadata was created on Pacific Data Hub.

The Marine Zones (Declaration) Act 2011 repeals and replaces the Marine Zones (Declaration) Act 1983 and defines the baseline of the territorial sea, the 12 nautical mile territorial sea and the 200 nautical mile exclusive economic zone.

The geographical coordinates defining the outer limits of the maritime zones of Kiribati are defined in the national legislation: Territorial Sea Outer Limits Regulations 2014, Contiguous Zone Outer Limits Regulations 2014 and the Exclusive Economic Zone Outer Limit Regulations 2014. All the coordinates are referenced to the World Geodetic System (WGS 84).

SPC holds maritime boundaries data on behalf of Kiribati, including a complete set of topographical map collection for all of the islands and atolls of Kiribati. Some hydro-graphic charts are available for the Phoenix and Line Groups. These small scale hydro-graphic charts and larger scaled topographical maps were used to compare the reef outline digitised from high resolution satellite imagery acquired in the period from 2009 – 2011. A thorough review of the baselines was then undertaken from as early as 2007 and 2008 by SPC, in collaboration with Government of Kiribati.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Issued 2014-11-04
  • English
Conforms To
  • UN DOALOS Submission Standards
DCAT Type dataset
Spatial Coverage
Publisher Geoscience and Energy and Maritime Division
Publisher Name The Pacific Community (SPC)
Publisher Email [email protected]
Publisher Homepage
Publisher Type Intergovernmental Organisation
Contact Point SPC Maritime Boundaries
Contact Name Malakai Vakautawale
Contact Email [email protected] or [email protected]
  • Fisheries
  • Fisheries
  • Geoscience
Member countries Kiribati